Cover of Study Guide to Silas Marner and Middlemarch by George Eliot
Buy Now on Amazon

Study Guide to Silas Marner and Middlemarch by George Eliot

A comprehensive study guide offering in-depth explanation, essay, and test prep for selected works by George Eliot, who developed the method of psychological analysis in modern fiction. Titles in this study guide include Silas Marner and Middlemarch.

As a revolutionary voice of literary realism and psychological insight of the nineteenth-century, Eliot’s books were considered intellectual art with a focus on the importance of mundane life. Moreover, Eliot is known as the “first modern novelist who observed moral, social, and medical phenomena.”

Preview Book

About the Author

Image of  George Eliot

Mary Ann Evans (22 November 1819 – 22 December 1880; alternatively Mary Anne or Marian ), known by her pen name George Eliot, was an English novelist, poet, journalist, translator and one of the leading writers of the Victorian era. She wrote seven novels, Adam Bede (1859), The Mill on the Floss (1860), Silas Marner (1861), Romola (1862–63), Felix Holt, the Radical (1866), Middlemarch (1871–72) and Daniel Deronda (1876), most of which are set in provincial England and known for their realism and psychological insight.